2018 Optimist Scholarship Winners

Congratulations goes out to the 2018 Optimist Scholarship winners who were awarded $1,500 each.

Recipients of the scholarships included Bay Port Senior Ta’Leah Van Sistine, who will be attending the University of Wisconsin Eau Claire, and her field of study Journalism and English and Ciara Harkin, will be attending the University of Wisconsin Madison, and her field of study Biochemistry.

The Howard-Suamico Optimists are thankful to the committee who took the time to review and come to a decision from all the applications. The committee included Paula Pyle, Christina Kabara, Kathy Zasada, Joshua Bushmaker, and Diane Schmidtke.

The Howard Suamico Optimist Club was chartered in 1973. It has been a major influence in the development of the Howard Suamico community.
The Optimists have a positive approach, with an upbeat outlook, their commitment to creating a more optimistic future for our kids is what differentiates the Optimist Club from any other volunteer opportunity.

Past programs and fundraisers include the Howard-Suamico Christmas Parade, Pancake Breakfast, Special Olympics, Brat Fry, Memorial Parade, Golden Ager’s, The Giving Tree, Reach a Child, Make-A-Wish, and Foundation Golf Outing to name a few. They work directly with local schools to enhance education.