According to Mary Joan O’Leary, the chair of our sister organization, the Howard-Suamico Optimist Foundation:

1) The Bay Port Senior Scholarship

“There are two $1,500 scholarships awarded to graduating seniors at Bay Port High School in the Howard-Suamico School District. No restrictions apply for students applying for the scholarships.

Scholarships are awarded by committee regarding the following criteria; GPA, class rank, extracurricular activities, community service, work experience and leadership abilities.

Monies are granted upon completion of the first semester at university provided completion of the first semester of studies, and a minimum  2.0 or 2.5 GPA is achieved.

Please see the application form attached for consideration for one of the Optimist Club or Optimist Foundation scholarships.

Contact Paula Pyle with any questions at: .

Download the Howard Optimist scholarship application here.


Congratulations to Allie Knuth and Chloe Knuth, this years winners for 2017.


2) 2017 Optimist Essay Scholarship Competition     

Topic: “Chasing Optimism in the Face of Challenges” 

Click here for additional information   Optimist Essay Contest poster – 2017

Click here for the official application   Optimist Essay Application – 2017

Congratulations! 2017 Optimist Essay Winners
Topic: Chasing Optimism in the Face of Challenges

(1) Megan Lefebvre – 1st place — $250 scholarship, medallion, advancement to district competition
(2) McKayla Wenner –2nd place — medallion
(3) Chloe Knuth – 3rd place – medallion
Thank you to Tony Yaggie, Kathy Yaggie, and Katie Peters for judging the entries, and to Diane Schmidtke for all her hard work putting this contest together.



3) 2017 Optimist Oratorical Scholarship Competition   

Topic:   “What the World Gains from Optimism”

Click here for additional information Poster Website

Click here for the official application Oratorical Application – 2017 – website

Congratulations to the 2017 HS Optimist Oratorical Contest Winners.
This year’s topic was: What the World Gains From Optimism.
Male category:
1st Jonathan Koby – $250 club scholarship, medallion, competes at district competition on May 6th for $2,500 scholarship
2nd Jake Weber – medallion
Female category:
1st Ta’Leah Van Sistine – $250 club scholarship, medallion, competes at district competition on May 6th for $2,500 scholarship
2nd Jena Weber – medallion
3rd – Czarina Albanese – medallion
Thank you to this year’s judges Bud and Murrie Donovan and Tina Seifert. A special thank you also to Pam Belden, Bay Port High School, for helping the students prepare their presentation. Thank you to Diane Schmidtke for all her hard work on these contests for the Optimists! The students will present their speeches at the May 9th noon meeting.